Mountain Biking · Track

Fall Semester

The last few months have been full of studying, training, and more studying. Juggling Human Biology, Chemistry, Psych, and some French, it’s been pretty fun. In the beginning of the school year Josie, John, and I departed on an adventure to Track Nationals in Colorado Springs, CO. During that trip, Josie won her first title in the the 500, and John took 4th in the IP. I did not find myself on the podium but I did make it to finals in the mass start races and ended up around the top 15 in both mass starts. After Track Nationals, I took a break from riding and racing, until the last two collegiate races of MTB season. Then we departed for MTB Nationals in Snowshoe, WV. We managed to get 4th in the team relay, I got 8th in STXC, and 10th in XC. After MTB Nationals I started training with my new coach, Debbie. After a few weeks, I had my first CX race. I ended up 6th/17 in Collegiate A’s, but I didn’t feel like I had a whole lot in my legs that day. The next race, I took 3rd. Then at conference champs I took 3rd/21 again, feeling much better. This past weekend I raced my first UCI CX race, and got my butt kicked. Even though the result looks crappy on paper, I was excited and I stayed in the race a lot longer than I thought I would. (There will be a post in the next few days in detail about NCGP and SEC Conference Champs). Now that it is winter break, I am getting ready for team camp with my new road team JETCycling! We have a little over a week in Cali, and we will be getting in a lot good hours and miles!! Then I fly home, take a two day breather and get ready to shred at 2016 Cyclocross Nationals, held here in on the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, NC! I will be racing U23, and D2 Collegiate as of now, possibly single speed as well! Super stoked for these next few weeks where I can train and not study!

Thank you to Kona Bicycles for supporting me this year! Kona bikes are rad!

Another thank you to Mars Hill Cycling, this team ROCKS!

Leave a comment